Back to All Events

The Shortlist Book Club

  • The Writer’s Block 1020 Fremont Street Las Vegas, NV, 89101 United States (map)

This season: the 1990 Man Booker Prize.

PLEASE NOTE: The date for this book club has changed. It will now be meeting on Tuesday, September 12th at 6pm.

Wednesday, April 24th at 6pm: Possession by A.S. Byatt
Tuesday, September 12th at 6pm: The Gate of Angels by Penelope Fitzgerald

Each year, the Man Booker Prize for Fiction is awarded to a work of English-language fiction published in the UK. In 1990, the Prize was given to A.S. Byatt’s novel Possession. An era-defining postmodern novel, Possession incorporates diary entries, letters, poetry, and narrative prose to unfold the story of two modern-day academics researching a romance between Victorian poets. 

That same year, Penelope Fitzgerald, a previous Booker Prize winner for Offshore in 1979, was shortlisted for her historical novel, The Gate of Angels. It tells the story of a turn-of-the-century Cambridge physicist, at the cusp of World War I—and on the edge of modern physics. 

Both novels are romances; both are “novels of ideas.” Yet each is deployed in a stylistically distinct manner. And only one was awarded the 1990 Man Booker.

Join us on Wednesday, May 24th for a discussion of A.S. Byatt’s Possession, and on Wednesday, August 2nd when we discuss and compare Penelope Fitzgerald’s The Gate of Angels.

Attendees are expected to have read each novel in advance of its respective book club discussion. Paperback copies of both novels are available at The Writer’s Block Book Shop. Registration is not required.

Earlier Event: September 8
Later Event: September 15
Olivia Clare